Advance to Go and Collect

Image(Tokens uniting)

Today I took my 3rd bus ride since my injury to dine with friends. We travelled to Tuen Mun a far away place in the New Territories of Hong Kong. Tuen Mun is one of the earliest settlement areas of Hong Kong, with recently a lot of Tanka fishermen linage. It was nice to get away from the city centre. We were far enough away, that the air smelled fresh and alive. There was no smell of fish either, just air that induced happy lungs.

The smell of the evening made mouths water and faces smile. At my friend’s home we had a hearty meal of a mysterious leafy mixed fruit salad, wieners, potatoes, sauerkraut, spinach cream cheese, macaroni soup, and last but not least ice cream drizzled with chocolate sauce over juicy strawberries. Clearing the table was a brilliant circus act, effective executed with perfect precision to layout the monopoly board just as the table dried from wiping.

A childhood favourite, nostalgia of happy memories flooded back. It is always feels great when winning and nerve wrecking when losing. Since this is a period of challenge in life, it made sense that I was merely surviving with my few plots of land that no one landed on. And if they did, I would lose it quicker than I earned it. Returning the money plus interests on the following turn. Spin cycle and repeat.

Initially, I had an unlucky start to the game, always ending up in jail and having to pay my friends, but later my luck turned, not great but good enough. I started getting chance cards. These cards can either go really good or really bad. There is nothing in between.

As life would have it, these cards relate to life. A lot happens and it is left up to chance. Preparations increase success rate, but even with preparations, things can go off track. We must learn and take initiative in the journey. No one knows the outcome, all we can do is take action in the present, and learn from the past. Sometimes it takes a little mortgage with the bank, deals with another player, or random acts of kindness to survive. However we must not give up, and make it around the board.

Upon arriving at ‘go’ one receives cash and hope is instilled again. At every checkpoint we must pull ourselves together to face the world again.

No matter what happens, we must work towards our goal. Life is full of unexpected twists and turns, ups and downs. Through hard work and chances, something will eventually turn out good in favour of us. The probability of hard work increase these chances of good happening, so we must keep striving forward.

How does chance and hard work play in your life?

6 thoughts on “Advance to Go and Collect

  1. How insightful, in monopoly and in life it is rare that I am on the good luck side of things, chance very rarely goes my way but it is my opinion that you make your own luck, create your own destiny, there is no luck or coincidence, just hard work and a grateful disposition.

    • Hahaha, I totally agree with you about making your own luck. A friend sent me a quote today that I’d love to share with you, ” You never know how STRONG you are until being STRONG is the only choice you have” 🙂 And you my friend are strong!

      • That is such a true statement, I remember thinking, I’m not strong enough to be a single parent, and then it happens and you have no choice but to go on, and look at you, I’ll bet before you had your accident you wouldn’t have thought you could survive what life has thrown at you, but you did! We are all strong when we have to be.

      • Power to you! I have some friends that are single parents and I give you applause. Being a single parent must be so hard, having to take care of your children and if you’re lucky find time for yourself. I absolutely don’t know how you juggle this with your diet plan. Go you!

  2. Enjoyable Post Lucas, Thanks!
    Love that illustration: “tokens uniting”
    May Community Chest come your way and all your Chances be rewarding.

    @findingmeunderthefat – “Fortune favors the prepared mind.” – Pasteur

    • There’s more we can learn from a game especially when we’re losing 😛 Thanks for the Community Chest and Chances cards hahaha. Sending them right back at you too!

      Here’s a funny quote “If at first you don’t succeed, think how many people you’ve made happy.”
      -H. Duane Black

      Cheers Masodo!

Leave a Reply

