Checking Forward and Checking Back

Image(Welcome to the Department of Orthopaedics and Surgery)

Every three months I have a moment of truth. The real deal, a check up to see where I am at and where I am going; Fine-tuning a compass to make sure it is actually pointed in the right direction. It is important to know which way you are going, in order to get there.

The floors were very shiny, much that of a bowling ball with polish reflecting the overhead brightly radiant lights. I was amongst my people! Cyborgs! Everyone seems to have some kind of mechanical aid, either built in, or an extension of them. Welcome to space, the 2nd floor, the department of Surgery and Orthopaedics. I get a happier feeling each time I come, a great sign of healing and morale boosting.

I zoned out a while in the sitting room, and the Dr, my new friend from the injury came to greet me at his door. I step into the doctor’s office. ” We don’t have to scan your back, it’ll make no difference. ”   I replied with my umm face, “Just don’t let anything hit me in the back right?” “Yes.” He replied.

We were standing with the pity patter catching up over the last few months.

As I reached for the chair, the Doctor darted, “Nope, not yet.” He lifts my shirt to check my back. “ The two halves are not equal yet, there is still an imbalance.” The right and left sides are disproportional. Continuing, he taps my back to feel the difference, a test for pain and for imbalances in the muscles. “Ouch!” my shirt comes back down. My back tenderized. I have earned the right to sit down.

If we have to do anything, we should do a nerve conductance test to check progress and nerve function. This is a dread of mine. Needles inserted into my body, with electrical currents shooting through me, then being told to relax as I am tasered! It is a total oxymoron. Just try putting a finger in the socket while getting electrocuted and relax at the same time. It just does not happen, unless that is a fake detachable rubber finger.

Rounding up we took a picture and arranged for the next meetings. Getting up from the chair, the doctor patted me on the back and said, “See you next time! Oops!” With a half frown smile back at him, “ See you in three months, “ I limped out of his office. “Ugh!” He patted my back again!

We parted with his famous words, “ You don’t know, if you don’t try.” I grinned back. Something I’ve heard since the beginning of my injury. There is some truth in his words. If you are ready, there is no reason to stand ideal, start moving, and do it. Do not procrastinate. If you cannot do it yet, get yourself to the point where you can and follow through. 

How do you know, if you don’t try?

 

 

5 thoughts on “Checking Forward and Checking Back

    • Ever time some one pats me on the back it’s out of love. I just hope people did the loving when my back is healed haha.

      Yeah, my doctor has been saying that to me since the first week of my injury. Makes more sense as I am able to move more 😛

      Thanks for the kind words 🙂

      Keep up the great job with your writing too, I love it.

      By the way, what’s your name? It’s a bit strange that you know mine and I don’t know yours 😛

      hahaha 🙂 your friend, Lucas

      • It reminds me of when my aunt had brain surgery. She had a ruptured aneurysm, 1% survival rate, and it was near her frontal lobe. After an 18 hour surgery and many check ups, she is healthy and you would never know what happened. Anyway, about a year after the surgery she still had a soft spot on her skull and I gave her a noogie. I felt AWFUL! I never gave anyone a noogie again. Hope you know what a noogie is 🙂

        – Lindsay

      • Hahhaha I sure know what a noogie is! When I’m healed, I’d be honoured if you could give me a noogie, by then I would know I’m healthy enough.

        You’re so funny, why did you want to noogie your Auntie in the soft spot? You could have noogied her anywhere else 😛 I’ve never noogied an Auntie or Uncle, but I must say that’s an idea!

  1. Because he kept patting your back, the doctor reminds me of Dr Harman on family guy 😉 not too aware of himself. I can’t imagine the electrocution 😦 you’re so strong.

Leave a Reply

