Tick Tock Do the Slow Motion

Image

Hey guys, the past two weeks have been wild weather. Just my luck, as my laptop charger broke after surviving years of jiggling to get it to work, and finally needed to be replaced. The weather has been rainy, hot, cold and with even up to 99% humidity. During this time we had public holidays in Hong Kong so the stores were closed. I wasn’t able to venture out to buy another charger with the dangers and the stores being closed, but all is good and charging again.

 Without further ado, here is my current experience with time and getting better:

Time passes by so slow, I feel like this past year has been dragging behind, and all I’m doing is waiting for time to pass so I can start fully living. I’m so sick of being like a hermit crab and waiting for time to pass by so I could change my shell. At least I’m trying to shorten this time by being proactive and trying to do what I can to speed up my recovery. My friends always ask me, “ Wassup?” and pinching my fingers together I reply, “ Just training and getting a bit better everyday. Rehab and resting”, showing the amount of progress made with the space between my fingers.

The life style I live right now is very zened out and kind of movie like. I focus on training everyday to get better. I feel like an old man, and I say this not by age, but because everyday I’m exhausted and in pain from recovering, growing new nerves, and desensitizing the nerves. I really want to be good, and so I exercise now, not because I’m keeping active, but because I need to and want to.

It is also a different period in my life where I am allowed and have to focus on healing or else I won’t be able to do anything else. For what I do now will heavily impact the rest of my life with everything I do. Persistence makes practice, and practice makes the habit. It is in our daily habits of how we do the smallest things, that impact how we do the biggest things in life.

A lot of people say time passes by when you’re having fun. Before my injury it was going by without enough hours in the day, but I guess now I must not be having that much fun, but at least time I’m making progress. We don’t have to love what we do, but we have to do what we need to, to get where we should.

You never know how strong you are until being strong is the only choice you have.

What daily practices are you doing everyday?

6 thoughts on “Tick Tock Do the Slow Motion

  1. I thought of you today. Dr. Phil had a great show today. An 18 year old football player broke his neck playing football. Though he was sitting in a chair with just a neck brace on. The boy’s father said “It is like a death sentence” Dr. Phil was compassionate because the father did not know what he was saying… but he said that words are powerful. We need to be careful what we say. He showed a picture of himself (with hair ~ smile) as a young football player, he also go hurt and it stopped his own football career. He told the young man. That he ought to be kneeling down thanking God that he could still feel his arms and legs because they both had missed being paralyzed. That he went on to get excited about becoming other things.
    Lucas, you already have an amazing attitude. You don’t need Dr. Phil to remind you that it could be worse. But I thought that it was such a great show. He wasn’t condescending about it. But it was an amazing reminder. We are all walking around with either half empty or half full glasses. And you my friend are a good example of a great attitude. I just wanted to let you know that you inspire me! God bless you! As always, you are in my prayers.

    • Coastalmom what’s your name? I feel your so kind and so I have to connect on a first name basis. Dr. Phil is right about how to speak to people and the sensitivity when speaking to patients. However, no matter what is said the patient themselves need to be the loudest voice in their head. Thank you for writing to me and encouraging me when others have forgotten about me. And even though I might reply once to a message, I read your messages over and over to empower me.

      Your friend,
      Lucas

  2. Keep going Lucas. You are doing so well and are so motivated. But it must be so hard at times. I love the book by Eckart Tolle, The Power of Now. I recommend it heartily. Life is not just about what you do, it’s about who you are. It’s about making contact with the real you, the truth of who we are. Through this realisation we realise we are part of something bigger than ourselves. There’s so much that I feel would help you. Let me know if you get it and what you think of it. You can even youtube the man! Concentrate on the present moment rather than ‘wait’ for a point in the future than we have no control over. All the very best. Sian

    • Thank you so much for the book recommendation, Im going to look for it today. You are right, and life is more than what we do, but who we are, it all plays a part. The present moment is the only moment we have and must make the most of it. I sometimes get frustrated, because of my inability to do things normally, however correct myself and realise that I am more that what I do 🙂

  3. Mmmph. That you keep going. That you share your journey. That you follow up so many of your posts with a question to your reader, bringing the message home. That you demonstrate your long slow resolve. That you model for others. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

