Rolling Up My Sleeves for a Brand New Year

Image

As we roll up the end of the year, I roll up my sleeves, and roll out in preparation of a great new start. I know this coming year will be a great one, and it’ll be my year, all I have to do is push harder than I’ve done before, and apply the knowledge gathered.

With this, I want to keep it simple. I already have a pretty dedicated plan on daily nutrition, rehab, and reflection, but I want to bring it to the next level. I want to work on something else. This is not to forget or push things a side, but to empower everything together. This is to move with everything in full force.

This year I’m going to work on forming 3 new habits. It’s going to be hard, and it’s going to be challenging, but it’s going to be worth it. The 1st one is to rise with the sun full of passion and purpose. I’m going to wake up every morning, starting my day and getting myself ready for when opportunity awaits. I’m going to be working even before the library or the pool opens, because I’m serious, and I’ll be waiting there for when the doors open. I’m going to wake the sun up, because I’m taking full responsibility of my life, and know that life is what I choose it to be.

2ndly I’m going to have a peaceful, restful sleep. Up to this point since my injury, I’ve had to blur out sounds of over powering thoughts in my head. If I didn’t blur it out, I would stay up for days until passing out from exhaustion. I was sleeping, but not resting. This is the year I’m going to get some good quality rest to heal.

Now, I’m going to be the master of my mind, and tame that beast within. I’m going to take back the reigns of my mind, before it reigns over me. I’m going to work on mind control.

3rdly to top both of them off, I’m going to work on brain nourishment. I’m going to wake up and set myself in the right mindset to have an amazing day. I’m going to meditate over what I want to achieve to instil positive embracing thoughts. I’m going to focus my mind everyday so that I stay on track and move in the right direction, forge what is on mind to paper, to reality.

This part of brain nourishment is not only confined upon waking hours, but reflecting before sleep on my daily activity for improvement, and reading enriching literature that will nurture the mind. It is a win win situation.

I know it’s going to be hard to take daily action, but I cannot afford to waste a day without trying my best. It is true on one hand I’m a healing patient, and still have pain ripping down my back, but I’m not going to let this hold me back, I’m healing, and I’m getting better. I’m not going to let my injury be an excuse for not achieving something greater during this time. I’m set on healing, and as I do, I’m growing and ready to bring people on this journey with me.

When the whole world recognises me, they won’t see a victim of an accident, but a victor who raise to the occasion. I’m going to be there to help you too, when you’re ready, all I ask you to do, is to try with everything to be the best you can be. So I invite you to commit to habits of your own. Let’s start this year out right, let’s do it with a bang.

What habits are you creating to live your life the way you want it?

2 thoughts on “Rolling Up My Sleeves for a Brand New Year

  1. I hope you keep going for it! I have committed to getting up everyday and reading the Bible everyday. So far I have done well. I have also committed to drinking CCF (coriander, cumin, fennel) water instead of coffee. I’m on month 3 with that. I have other things I need to do as well and like you, I’m working on it…you make me want to re-examine my life more, though, and dig for those profound changes that need to be made! Keep writing and inspiring, Lucas 🙂

Leave a Reply

